A Year in the Life of a Food Blogger

New YearsBreak started off at such a brisk pace I’d expected it to be full (maybe too full) with get-togethers, holiday-related outings, and attempting new recipes.

Well, that’s what I’d thought it’d be like.  But then everyone came down with the flu right over Christmas.  Thankfully, family was flexible and presents keep, because the festivities had to be put on hold for a couple of days this year.  And that’s the long-ish explanation as to where I’ve been.

Now that I’m feeling quite a bit better (managing to eat solid food providing it’s mild and relatively soft), I’ve been thinking about what a lot has happened in the last year.  And how quickly it’s gone by!  The Crunchy Cook was my new years resolution from last year (this was when I  had a very small handful of food foes), which means my blog is almost exactly a year old.


Biggest Changes:
1. Discovered I have 10 additional food allergies (including eggs, soy, dairy).  This was a HUGE challenge that impacted my entire family.  And it’s still something I’m learning how to work with.

2. Graduated from community college with a two-year transfer degree.

3. Completed my first quarter at the University of Washington (I swear, it’s not nearly as hard as figuring out how to cook with food allergies).

Favorite Foodie Reads:
1. Gluten-Free Girl: How I Found Food that Loves Me Back … And How You Can Too by Shauna James Ahern.  I found this book very encouraging.

I don’t know that I’d love it quite as much now that I can’t eat the majority of food mentioned, but Shauna’s advice to use food restrictions as a reason to say “Yes!” to foods you’ve never tried has been very helpful in my own food journey.  And a good reminder that there is still a world of flavors out there waiting to be tasted.  Even for allergy girls like me.

Firsts:
1. Started my food blog, The Crunchy Cook.

2. Went on a cruise and was actually able to eat (I got to hand it to Disney, they sure do handle dietary restrictions well).

3. Took a junior-level class at the university (it was awesome, and also not nearly as mentally challenging as figuring out what to cook for dinner when you have a whole collection of food allergies).

Goals/Hopes for 2013:
1. Learn to cook more gluten-free/allergen-free food.  I’m hoping to attempt a new recipe every weekend (not all of them will show up on the blog because not everything will work, but it’ll get me in the habit of trying out new things and being fearless in the kitchen).

2. Blog more regularly about the food I’m learning to cook; I want to have a record of all the recipes that have worked.  And just generally what it’s like being gluten-free/allergen-free.  I’m new to the blogging community, but loving it already.

3. Finally be able to set the date for the wedding (fingers crossed!).

Well, what about you?  What are your goals, hopes, or resolutions for the coming year?  Anything you’re hoping to learn or cook?

17 thoughts on “A Year in the Life of a Food Blogger

    • That’s a great goal! And I completely agree, it does impact EVERYONE. I’m very allergic to most perfumes and fragrances, so I can really sympathize. Having to take allergy meds just because someone next to me decided to wear perfume gets old quickly.

      My sister and I always say that the world has plenty of pretty small all on its own, we don’t need to add to it. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

      • Amen— many thousand of us are beyond allergies with toxic chemcials– we suffer from a life threatening illness called MCS– & many thousand of us live in MCS safe homes totally toxic free– & many are no longer even able to leave those homes– or have any form of normal life style!! Blessings to you in the New Year!!!

        • Just dealing with allergies is bad enough, I can’t even begin to imagine how hard it must be for men and women with MCS.

          I’m so severely allergic to peanuts that I can’t go into a grocery store and before even setting food inside someplace like a coffee shop I have to call ahead of time (haven’t actually found one yet where I can go). It’s scary knowing that if someone decides to crack open a peanuty treat next to me I could be on my way to the ER in a matter of minutes, and it’s very isolating. I can’t go to parties or other people’s houses. It makes life interesting to say the least. It makes me feel like my freedom is slowly going away, like my world is getting smaller. Peanuts are bad because they’re all over the place, but having to avoid anything scented at the same level that I avoid peanuts must be a nightmare.

          ~Kelsey

          • Probably a large % of everyone who suffers from MCS also suffer from some sort of problems with our food & what we are able to eat also– as the peanut does to you —many of us –ALL our food that might have chemicals in it– or sprayed on it— it is not “the scent”– of things it it the toxic chemicals that go into the making up of EVERYTHING— . So there for many of us– are not able to go places at all or leave our safe homes– or eat anything that is not organic– & no chemcials–& no processed foods– the world is toxic– to most of us!!!!!!! What you experience with a peanut or peanut products– think of anything & everything that has toxic chemcials– it effects us & our health! Not just perfumes & scents– many of us who suffer from MCS also have food allergies– which is a another ballgame– which you know very well from being allergic to different foods!! Keeps life interesting!!!! 🙂 Just trying to stay alive & educate others of how their life styles can be effecting those around them!!!!! http://sondasmcschatter.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for dropping by. I looked over your oat bars, and they look mighty tasty! Sadly, due to all my food foes they’re not something I can eat. But I’m sure other folks will enjoy them. Nice picture to go with the post, too. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

  1. I hope to get my book cover done and my book finally published. I hope to continue to educatate others on MCS, food allergies and the damage that mold does to one’s body. I also hope to try more recipes as well as report back on my blog about their success.

Leave a Reply

