An Allergen-Free Thanksgiving: Healthy, Safe, and Yummy

pumpkinsWhen I first found out about my newest assortment of food allergies a couple weeks back—10 new food allergies, baby—I felt like the floor had just dropped out from under me.  What will I eat?  Will I ever bake again?  Will I be able to eat anything that actually tastes good?  Ugh!  I’m starting all over again!

I felt like I’d finally reached a point where I didn’t have to constantly think about celiac disease, I’d gotten used to reading every single ingredient label before popping even the smallest thing into my mouth, and I was slowly coming up with new favorite recipes.  But now I was starting over from scratch.  It was very discouraging.  Very discouraging.

As a result, I’m thankful for my family, fiancé, and future in-laws.  They’ve all made the transition to allergen-free eating a lot easier by sportively helping me find food and never making me feel like an inconvenience. 

It’s so nice to know that tomorrow I’ll not only have a plate full of Thanksgiving food but that I’ll feel safe eating it because everyone has gone out of their way to insure it’s Kelsey friendly.  Not only will my food be safe and decently healthy (junk food is pretty much off limits now), but it tastes good too!

And, perhaps one of the best reason to be thankful, since I’ve been avoiding all my many allergens I’m feeling a lot better and my stomach has stopped hurting continually.  I may not be able to eat all of my usual Thanksgiving-y favorites (couldn’t figure out how to make a pumpkin pie but maybe I’ll do one for Christmas), but I feel like I have my health back.  And my family and family-to-be have made this Thanksgiving not just something to survive, but something to enjoy.

What about you?  What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

6 thoughts on “An Allergen-Free Thanksgiving: Healthy, Safe, and Yummy

  1. I am thankful that I have more foods than I had before this Thanksgiving. I know what you are going through with trying to prepare a holiday meal around the allergies. What foods do you avoid? The big ones I mean.

    I am thankful that you have such a supportive family to help you through all of this. Not everyone does so that is definitely something to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving to you.

    • Yes, having supportive family is very helpful. My immediate family is very supportive and my fiance’s parents and sister are as well, but my extended family isn’t understanding or helpful when it comes to food allergies. They think I’m just fussy. So I really understand both sides when it comes to dealing with family.

      We actually had to have Thanksgiving at my future in-laws this year because my grandparents still don’t understand my peanut allergy. Even though my allergy is serious enough that I’ve ended up in the ER just because someone near me opened something with peanuts in it, they still keep a huge bag of peanuts in the house to feed the squirrels and will regularly take it out while I’m there. Having a usual Thanksgiving at my grandparents was sadly too dangerous and scary to be an option, so thankfully my future in-laws pitched in.

      My biggest food foes are gluten (wheat, rye, barley, spelt), dairy, soy, and eggs. And peanuts and mushrooms are the most dangerous. Thankfully, I felt very safe eating this Thanksgiving. It was a nice feeling. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

  2. That’s so great that they’re making Thanksgiving Kelsey-friendly 🙂 I’m thankful for the same thing! I’m going to a friend’s house, as well as my mother’s. They’ve both gone above and beyond for ensuring that it’s 90% gluten-free foods, and that all the guests are educated about cross-contamination. They’re making sure to use stainless steel dishes (rather than non-stick because of potential cross contamination) and really just doing so much to make it safe for me.

    It makes me feel loved! 🙂

    • I agree, Amanda! It really makes me feel loved, too. So folks act like celiac and food allergies are just other words for picky eaters, so to have people go above and beyond to make sure I don’t get sick makes me feel cared about. 🙂

      Did you have a favorite Thanksgiving dish this year?

      ~Kelsey

    • That’s good you’re starting to feel more comfortable with baking and cooking allergy-free. I’m hoping that come next Thanksgiving that where I’ll be at, too. I’ve noticed that even in the last five weeks since I was diagnosed with my newest food allergies that it’s already getting easier to keep track of them and figure out what I can eat. Makes me feel very hopeful. 🙂

      Have you discovered any specific allergy-free Thanksgiving favorites? I’m a huge fan of my mom’s cranberry sauce, and with a little adjusting it was easy to make it allergy-free.

      ~Kelsey

Leave a Reply

