Simple Spaghetti (gluten & allergen free)

PastaTomatoes.  I’ve really been missing tomatoes since I found out I was allergic to them three weeks ago.  Partly because they’re yummy and go well with so many things, but mostly, at least at the moment, because I’m having a hard time adjusting to life without spaghetti sauce.

This is something my mom has made for me before but I hadn’t made it myself until this week because previously I’d just dump red sauce on everything.  But it’s pretty darn easy.  And yummy.  And gives me hope that a red-sauce-free live doesn’t have to be one void of flavor.


Ingredients:

  • 7 ounces of gluten-free spaghetti
  • 2 large minced garlic leaves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of chili pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook spaghetti as usual—boil water in a pot, put pasta in, cook until soft, and strain.
  2. Place cooked spaghetti in a large bowl.
  3. Mix all other ingredients together in a small bowl.
  4. Pour olive oil sauce over the pasta and mix it together well.
  5. Serve, and enjoy.
11 thoughts on “Simple Spaghetti (gluten & allergen free)

  1. I make something like this all the time! So delicious! I tend to go overboard with garlic, as I’m a total garlic fanatic…. I’ve never really been a fan of red sauces on things, actually.

    • I used to live on red sauces, so at first I had no idea what to eat. But now I feel like I’m learning about all different ways to flavor things. I guess things can be pretty darn tasty even when they don’t taste like tomatoes. 😉
      ~Kelsey

  2. This looks good. I too had an allergy problem with tomatoes until I did about year on my LDA and now can eat them. Still I think this is something I would like to try. It sounds delicious and I love garlic.

  3. Mmm, looks yummy. Sometimes a simple light sauce like this is just perfect. I always love the pasta samples at Costco because they just dress it up with a little olive oil and parmesan and it’s delicious! Speaking of parmesan, are there any dairy-free equivalents to parmesan or other hard grating cheeses? I know there’s things like cheddar and mozzarella, but I’ve never seen any hard cheeses in dairy-free form.

    • That’s a good question! I honestly don’t know if there are any dairy-free forms of parmesan. The trouble is that everything also has to be soy-free, which limits most of the dairy-free options. I tried a “mozzarella” one but it really wasn’t worth it. Kind of made me miss cheese more. lol

      ~Kelsey

    • Yes, I can have basil. That’s such a good idea to grow your own! I only have a little tiny (more of a large pot really) garden in the backyard. I might have to try growing some once the weather warms up a little. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

      • When I want lots of basil– I go to our local farmer’s market in season– & buy from locals that I know do not use any chemicals– on their plants– but I love to garden– I have lots of containers of herbs in season— have fun & enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

