Disney: Cruising with Food Allergies & Celiac (Part 2)

As I mentioned yesterday, my future in-laws took Mr. Munger, my mom, my sister, and I all on a Disney Cruise in September.  And it was amazing because I was actually able to eat.  Not to mention, it was also just a lot of fun.

We left from Vancouver, B.C. and went down to L.A. with a two-day stop in San Francisco to see the sights.

2012-09-10 11.57.56

Because it was a Disney Cruise, there are Mickey Mouse heads tactfully and tastefully hidden everywhere.  This Mickey head is much more blatantly obvious than most.

2012-08-14-05.55.22_thumb2

Our ship!  This is in Vancouver.

2012-08-14-10.51.15_thumb2

While you’re not bombarded with Disney Characters, they do make guest appearances    sometimes.  This was during the “Sailing Away” party.

2012-08-14-09.49.16_thumb3

My sister, Shannon, in the hot tub.  This was before we figured out how to turn it on.

10000013

The closest thing to a ball on the ship is Pirate Night.  Everyone dresses up, and we were extra dressed up because De, my future mother-in-law, has mad skills when it comes to costumes.  Shannon and I picked out the fabric we wanted, explained how we wanted it to look, and De did the rest.

2012-09-12-22.07.42_thumb1

Mr. Munger and I on deck during the pirate party.  We were dressed as pirates on a ship as it was in the ocean and there were even fireworks; it was awesome!

2012-09-14-19.14.18_thumb1

Lovely San Francisco.  Mom took this nice picture of the Golden Gate Bridge.

2012-09-15-21.05.40_thumb1

Food!  I ate so much wonderful, gluten-free, allergy-free food while on the ship.  After having a waitstaff who truly acted like they enjoyed taking care of me and helping me to have a great trip (rather than acting like I was an inconvenience!), I think I’m spoiled.  Very spoiled.

2012-08-18-08.20.18_thumb2

Shannon eating gluten-free fries and a burger on deck.  It was beautiful but pretty windy!

2012-09-13-11.04.33_thumb1

Mickey Mouse!  Such a good trip.


Other Articles of Interest:

2 thoughts on “Disney: Cruising with Food Allergies & Celiac (Part 2)

  1. Thank you so much for this (and the previous) post. They about made me well up with tears. It’s reassuring to know that the Disney Cruises truly are catering to the allergic populace. My wife and I have not been on a cruise since, well before the kids. After my son was diagnosed with so many food allergies, we just about gave up on the idea of a 10th anniversary cruise. Even with places that claim to be “allergy free” we are hesitant to trust what any company has to say about allergies because it’s a business decision for them while it’s a life and death decision for us. It makes me sad to think that my son won’t be able to enjoy some of the simple pleasures that most other kids enjoy even though he really wouldn’t know any different. I just don’t want him to miss out. A Disney Cruise would be a well deserving treat for him. I guess it’s time to start saving up 🙂

    • I really hope you’re able to take a Disney Cruise sometime! It’d be so nice for your family. My trip was was amazing. Truly amazing. I’d never had people anywhere be so knowledgeable, helpful, and careful when it came to all my many allergies and celiac. And I loved the fact that I never felt like I was a bother. Instead, it felt like the waitstaff privileged that they got to play such an important part in helping me to have a relaxing, enjoying trip.

      Let me know if you have any questions about what it was like traveling on a Disney Cruise with food allergies. I’d be happy to answer them. 🙂

      Don’t forget to pack something pirate-y for Pirate Night!

      ~Kelsey

Comments are closed.