Slowly Adjusting to Allergies

2012-10-20 12.00.15I was temporarily very excited today when I found a recipe on Pinterest for shrimp cooked in pesto that seemed to be free of all my allergens.  Shrimp just so happens to be my favorite food, it’s what my mom makes me on my birthdays instead of a cake, and the recipe looked relatively easy.  Then I remembered: I’m now allergic to shrimp.  Oh.  Well, so much for that idea.

I’d been diagnosed with extremely limiting things before (celiac disease sure did a number on my regular eating routine) so I know that feeling overwhelmed, frustrated, and even depressed about everything at first is normal.  But I feel like this would all be so much easier if I had some magic gluten-free, allergy-free food genie or if I could still at least eat something like eggs … or even tomatoes.  The fact that I have so many allergies I literally can’t remember all of them and, to top it off, have to keep a card listing the allergens in my wallet, is really what makes eating seem overwhelming.

On a more positive note, it appears that I may be able to go grocery shopping again soon.  For the last nine weeks the grocery stories in my area have all had HUGE peanut displays that have made it so I can’t even walk in the store (I’m so extremely allergic to peanuts that I’ll have life-threatening, 911-calling reactions to just being near a couple of peanuts or someone with a PB&J).  Thankfully my mom has been wonderful and has done my grocery shopping for me, but not being able to go into a store and read ingredient labels has make it hard to even start to get a feel for what I can eat now.  Hopefully I’ll be able to walk up and down all the aisle reading labels very soon.  (The photo on this post in no way relates to allergies; I just happen to like pumpkins and I took this picture at the pumpkin patch on Saturday.)

12 thoughts on “Slowly Adjusting to Allergies

  1. Is your reaction so bad that even if the peanut butter is unopened, you will get sick? I feel so bad for you that you can’t even go to the grocery store! But it’s great to have supportive family members like your mom who has been going for you. Hopefully you’ll start to get the hang of all your new restrictions soon, and will start to feel better. How sad that your favorite food is now something you’re allergic to! 😦

    • Thankfully, providing the peanut jar has never been opened, I shouldn’t have a problem. I also get kind of scared though when I walk by peanut butter jars by mistake because I have had reaction when I was near them before, but I suspect it was because someone had opened one of the jar.

      What really irks me is that at my local grocery store they decided to move the grind-your-own-peanut-butter monster right next to the gluten-free section! So I can no longer shop in the gluten-free area. I might be able to have someone else pick something up from me there, but I’ve been kind of scared to eat buy anything so close to it.

      Ah, the joys of food allergies. =P

      ~Kelsey

  2. My daughters have numerous food allergies, so we are also travelling the stormy sea of allergies in a world that doesn’t think about them! I look forward to following your blog – it’s so inspiring to read how others cope 🙂

    • Lucy, I can completely relate! It makes me feel better to read about how others cope with their allergies, too. I feel like food and allergies impact me every single day of my life, and I live in a world where people only think of mild seasonal allergies and not the kind of food allergies that can easily land you in the ER. And when they think of food it’s based more on taste than on ingredients. It makes life interesting to say the least! I know I’m more thoughtful about my food as a result of my food allergies and celiac disease.

      Welcome to my blog! 🙂

      ~Kelsey

      • So true…. people seem to think of others who need to avoid food items as ‘weirdos’ – I can’t begin to tell you how many comments I’ve had about my kids not being like anyone else or even ‘martyrs to their own suffering’ (I’m still seething about that comment 6 months on!) If only the world woke up and realised delicious food can be for everyone, and everyone who probably be more healthy as a result!

        As you say it’s something that’s with you all the time. My 8 yr old daughter was asked about similarities and differences between her and her friends at school…. top of the list before being blonde even, she said ‘I’m allergic to milk and eggs’ – it made me so sad….she already sees herself as so different to others because of what she can’t eat.

        Looking forward to following your blog 🙂

        Lucy x

        • Lucy,

          I’m sorry your daughter is feeling different already do to allergies. I can really, really relate! Once when I met the younger brother of a friend, the first thing out of his month was, “Are you the one allergic to mushrooms?” Yep, that’s me.

          My mom, younger siblings (brother is 22, sister is 17), and I all have more than our share of food allergies. And sometimes people really do say things that tick me off. The worst was when a man commented we probably just shouldn’t go to public events anymore because we inconvenienced other people. Ouch! What was frustrating too was the extent of us “inconvenienced” people was that the potluck wasn’t serving any peanuts or mushrooms due to my allergies.

          While some people, sadly, do make dealing with allergies much worse that it already is I’ve found that there are a few who make it better. I feel like “allergy girl” all the time. I can’t eat normal things, go out to eat, or even go to the movies during the busy times (too many chances to run into people with peanuts). But I have a few friends who go way out of their way to keep me safe, and less like I’m so odd.

          ~Kelsey

          • Not only do I have the food issues I also have chemical sensitivities and severe mold allergies. It makes going most places very difficult. I think the more of us who blog and get out stories out the better. Thank you for writing about your food allergies.

  3. I know you already do this, but you could shop online for more of your stuff–Amazon fresh now delivers to the Auburn area. And I think you can do a lot of research online for ingredients in food, if you’re determined enough. I know it’s a slow and difficult process, but so is finding something you *can* eat. My wishes to you for good luck in this endeavor. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for anything that might work for you (or can easily be modified). Hang in there!

    • Thanks for commenting! And welcome. 🙂

      Yes, you’re right that shopping online can be a good way to go. I tend to order things like gluten-free rice flour from Amazon. But it might be a good way to go if I’m unable to go into a grocery store for awhile due to the peanuts.

      ~Kelsey

    • Welcome to my blog! And thank you for taking the time to comment. Dealing with food allergies is such a unique thing, I think a lot of folks have no idea how much they truly impact someone’s life. I’m looking forward to getting to know other allergy-free bloggers; nice to know you’re not alone.

      ~Kelsey

Leave a Reply

