Glutened Again: The Magic of Ice Cream

Ice creamWhile my neighbors take advantage of a cooler summer day by having a garage sale and the kids ride bikes in the afternoon sun, the ice cream man is serenading the local residents with tinny versions of “Silent Night” and “Joy to the World.”  Perhaps he’s trying to tempt us with the idea of all the magic and wonder of the holidays being wrapped into one overpriced little ice cream cone.

A bowl of French vanilla ice cream may not posses the same level of wonder that Christmas morning holds for a sugar-high five-year-old running on no sleep, but for those of us with celiac (an autoimmune disease that makes my body respond to even the slightest amount of gluten  the way other people’s bodies’ might react to being literally poisoned) ice cream is a huge comfort.

And I don’t mean “comfort food” in that handkerchiefs scattered all over the room kind of way, although it’s definitely been known to double as a companion for those times too, but it works to sooth my poor little inner organs after they’ve been abused by gluten.

My sister, Shannon, and I were glutend a couple of days ago.  We’d gone out to eat at The Old Spaghetti Factory in Seattle, careful ordered off the “gluten-free” menu, nicely questioned the server about each of the dishes, and our meals had even come with little flags planted in our pasta claiming the meal was free of all unwanted gluten.  But thanks to cross-contamination issues, we both still ended up feeling pretty crummy.  That’s where the ice cream comes in.

I’ve always tried to be sparing when it came to ice cream and just desserts in general, but the fiancé was worried so he brought Shannon and I each our own container.  And I ate my entire tub of gluten-free, sugar-free ice cream over the course of two days.  Boy oh boy did it make a difference though.  Whenever my insides would begin feeling like they were being barbecued and gored alive, I’d slowly suck on some of the soothing ice cream.  It never made the pain go away completely, but it would help me to go from feeling like I was going to spend the day doubled-up in a corner crying to feeling uncomfortable and out of it.  An almost miraculous transformation.  Ice cream is always helpful, but if gluten had been an actual ingredient (rather than cross-contamination) it wouldn’t have been able to help as much.

Sometimes I’m asked what kind of medicine I take after being glutened, but there really aren’t any meds that would help.  But ice cream, providing I have a decent (or perhaps indecent) amount and the gluten-ing isn’t too sever, works pretty well.  Perhaps the ice cream man is right, maybe when it’s needed ice cream really is magical.

What do you find to be the most helpful after you’ve been accidentally glutened?


Other Articles of Interest:

2 thoughts on “Glutened Again: The Magic of Ice Cream

  1. Nice tips, after being glutened, I pop in some mint gum to calm my stomach. Peppermints have always been a help, too. But next time, I will definitely be grabbing some ice cream! thanks for the tip! ~andrea

    • Thanks for commenting, Andrea! And welcome to my blog.

      Milk shakes and fruit smoothies are also nice options, providing they’re very thick and cold. I don’t find them quite as soothing as ice cream, but after a couple of days of basically living off of ice cream I decided to switch to fruit smoothies so I could at least get a little fruit in my diet. Soft gluten-free bread also does better on my stomach after being glutened than a lot of other foods (Udi’s is the best). Just be careful that whatever you try that it’s gluten-free, it’d be horrible to end up glutened again by the wrong kind of ice cream.

      I stopped by your blog. Looking forward to more posts. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

Leave a Reply

