Pepperoni Pizza (gluten-free & low carb)

Pizza[Update: Sadly, due to new allergies, this isn’t something I can eat anymore.  But I still highly recommend it if you’re gluten-free or on a low carb diet]

One of the low points commonly reached by newly gluten-free folks is the oh-my-gosh-I’ll-never-eat-pizza-again phase.

Of course, this isn’t true because there are several good pizza options and some restaurants now even serve gluten-free pizzas.  But when you’re new, all you know is that your favorite comfort food is suddenly strictly off-limits.

That’s why this cream cheese crust was such an exciting discovery when I first went gluten-free.  This recipe is a modified version of Suzanne Somers’ Mini-Pepperoni Pizzas from her book Suzanne Somers’ Fast & Easy.  While I don’t recommend Suzanne’s books for newbies because they’re not specifically gluten-free, she has a lot of low-carb, grain-free recipes in her books that I’ve found very helpful!  


Ingredients for Crust:

  • 1 (8-ounce) packed of cream cheese (room temperature)
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Ingredients for Toppings:

  • 1/3 cup marinara sauce (if you use a can, make sure to read the ingredient list to make sure it’s okay for your diet)
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese (shredded)
  • Package peperoni (I used turkey because I can’t eat beef)
  • 2 small zucchinis (optional)
  • 3 Tomatoes (optional)
  •   Parmesan (just enough to sprinkle on top of the pizza)

Directions:

1. Mix cream cheese and eggs together with a spoon.  Once mixed together, add salt and pepper (just a dash for seasoning).  And then blend in the parmesan.

2. Butter a 9 x 13 inch baking dish.  Pour the cream cheese mixture into the dish and bake at 350 for 15 minutes (the crust should be a light golden brown but not burnt).  Once out of the oven, let the crust cool before adding marinara sauce or toppings.

DSCF06892

4. Cut up the zucchini and tomatoes and sauté them in a pan with the pepperoni.

DSCF0699

5. Thinly spread marinara sauce over the cooled cream cheese crust.

DSCF0701

6. Add mozzarella cheese, zucchini, pepperoni, tomatoes, olives, and parmesan on top (it helps glue everything in place).

DSCF07162

7. Bake for 8 minutes at 400 degrees (cheese should be gooey).  If you want to be able to eat it with your fingers, let the pizza cool completely in the refrigerator.  It makes a great breakfast if you have leftovers!  Or if you’re in a hurry, let it cool for a couple of minutes so you don’t burn yourself and then grab a fork.

4 thoughts on “Pepperoni Pizza (gluten-free & low carb)

    • Welcome to my blog, Mel! And thanks for commenting. 🙂

      I have celiac and food allergies coming out my ears, so I’m always excited to find a new recipe I can eat! And pizza is always such a fun, yummy food.

      ~Kelsey

  1. This looks delicious! I’m always grateful to find new resources for my dietary woes. I’m curious though, it’s says all recipes on this blog are etc., etc., free, including tomatoes and pork. But pepperoni is made from pork and marinara from tomatoes. Am I overlooking something?
    Thank you for all you do!

    • Good eye! You found one of the older recipes that I haven’t taken down yet (perhaps I’ll add a note to the top explaining that). I didn’t have allergy testing until October 2012, so prior to that my blog focused more on gluten-free and a couple of allergies (peanuts, mushrooms) but pork and tomatoes and dairy and soy and all of those are new. Once I had my allergy testing (I found out about 10 food allergies that day), my blog changed massively and became much more allergen-focused.

      Thanks for commenting! I’ll have to get in there and add a comment at the top to sort out the confusion. 🙂

      ~Kelsey

Leave a Reply

