Turkey Meatloaf (gluten-free)

DSCN0809[Update: Due to new allergies, this isn’t something I can eat anymore.  But it’s super good so give it a try!  Hoping to figure out how to make a new allergen-free version soon]

My fiancé and I were recently have a discussion about meatloaf that began when he stated, “I just don’t get meatloaf.  It’s not that good.”

Not that good?  Well, of course, then I just had to make it.

Growing up, my mom made a fabulous meatloaf, so when I went completely beef-free and gluten-free it was one of the things I actually missed the most.  No more meatloaf and, perhaps worst of all, no more meatloaf sandwiches!  Thankfully, though, Mom doctored the recipe in order to accommodate my dining difficulties.  Her magic secret to making the ground turkey moist and flavorful: shredded zucchini!

An added bonus of this recipe is that it makes some pretty mean turkey meatloaf sandwiches with the leftovers and you can also use it for meatballs.


Algerian/Sensitivity Info: Gluten/wheat-free, nut-free, and beef-free.

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 cup gluten-free bread of any variety (cut up into very small pieces, doesn’t have to be neat)
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley (snipped)
  • 1 cup grated zucchini (don’t forget the magic ingredient!)
  • 3 eggs (lightly beaten)
  • 2 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 1 tablespoon thyme
  • 2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

  1. Combine turkey, bread, onion, parmesan, parsley, and  zucchini in a large mixing bow.  Don’t be afraid to get messy, using your hands works well.
  2. Mix the eggs and spices together in a separate bowl.  Be careful to not over beat the eggs.  And then, mix the egg and spices mix into the turkey meat.
  3. In a pre-greased 9″x13″ pan, separate the meatloaf mixture into two separate bread-shaped loaves.
  4. Bake the lovely meatloaves at 350 for an hour.
  5. Make a salad or fries to go along with it and enjoy.  And, if there’s any leftovers, make a sandwich for work tomorrow using gluten-free bread.

To subscribe to updates, “like” The Crunchy Cook on Facebook.

6 thoughts on “Turkey Meatloaf (gluten-free)

  1. My mom always made meatloaf with oatmeal not bread or bread crumbs. I am trying this recipe with oatmeal (quick oats) and will let you know how it turns out. Thanks for the zucchini tip to keep moist.

    • Hey, Kathi!

      My mom has made this recipe before using oatmeal, too. It works well, but because I need the recipes to be gluten-free I thought it’d actually be easier for people to make gluten-free bread crumbs than it would be for them to find gluten-free oatmeal (my local store only carries one brand of gluten-free oats and they’re pricey!). But, yes, either oats or bread crumbs work. 🙂

      I’d love to know how your recipe turns out! And thanks for commenting!

      ~Kelsey

      • Yum yummy yum! Perfectly moist, very flavorful, and, with 3 eggs, plenty of protein. My husband is on a low sodium, low cholesterol, low carb program. I think next time I’ll try egg whites. I did use a non-salt seasoning and added dry mustard (1/2 tsp or so) and the taste was great. (Sorry, I thought oats would be relatively gluten free – glad to learn otherwise.) Thanks for a recipe that will be repeated (often!) in our home.

        • I’m so glad you liked it, Kathi! And that it worked well using a salt-free seasoning! It’s so much fun hearing how recipes turn out for people. Thanks for sharing! 😀

          Being gluten-free is a funny business. Oats don’t have gluten in them but unless the entire process has been certified gluten-free, sadly there’s always cross contamination issues. I didn’t realize that for a while. Silly gluten.

          Thanks again for sharing how it turned out, Kathi!

          ~Kelsey

Comments are closed.